Lake Forest College Sports Information
February 27th, 2001
Contact:  Scott Rucker, SID

J.R. Jurecko Named to All-Midwest Conference First Team
Fred Bell and Lee Taylor earn honorable mention

J.R. Jurecko is a repeat member on the First Team.
LAKE FOREST, IL - The 2000-01 All-Midwest Conference Teams for men's basketball were released on Tuesday (February 23rd), and the Foresters had three players make the cut.

The MWC coaches named senior center J.R. Jurecko (Libertyville, IL/Libertyville) to the league's five-member First Team for the second straight year. He led the Foresters in both scoring and rebounding this season and his 16.1 points and 8.6 boards in conference games ranked him 11th and 2nd in the league, respectively. He also appears among the MWC's top 10 in field goal percentage (58.4%; 6th) and blocked shots (.81/game; tied-7th).

Sophomore guard Fred Bell (Mequon, WI/Homestead) received Honorable Mention for the second time in as many seasons. Bell was the Foresters' second-leading scorer this year and ranked among the conference's leaders in scoring (11.8/game; 26th), assists (3.25/game; 11th), three-point field goal percentage (41.8%; 4th) and assist-to-turnover ratio (1.00; 10th).

Another Forester sophomore guard, Lee Taylor (Sheldon, IA/Sheldon), also received Honorable Mention. Taylor finished the conference season ranked 18th in rebounding and just ahead of Bell in both assists (3.53/game; 6th) and assist-to-turnover ratio (1.10; 9th).

2000-01 All-Midwest Conference Men's Basketball Team
Henry Grant, Beloit College Fred Bell, Lake Forest College
Michael Hochman, Grinnell College Matt Entwistle, Beloit
Nathan Hoffman, St. Norbert College Victor Garcia, Knox College
J.R. Jurecko, Lake Forest College Garrett Ingram, Illinois College
Steve Kohl, Ripon College Scott Landisch, Ripon College
Matt Petefish, Illinois College
SECOND TEAM Kenny Spranger, Monmouth College
Matt Espenschied, Illinois College Lee Taylor, Lake Forest College
Steve Glasgow, Monmouth College Steve Wood, Grinnell College
James Hischke, Carroll College
Adam LaVoy, Lawrence University PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Henry Grant, Beloit
Nate Leverence, Lawrence University COACH OF THE YEAR: David Arseneault, Grinnell

News & Notes  | Schedule/Results  | Stats  |  Roster/Profiles  |  Coaching Staff
History/Records  |  Links  |  F.A.N. Club  |  Recruit Info.  | Athletics Home
This site is designed and maintained by the Lake Forest College Sports Information Department.
Please direct all comments or questions pertaining to the site to Sports Information Director Mike Wajerski.